"What I Want My Words to do to You" by Millicent R. Jackson

Posted: September 22, 2006 by trggradio in Uncategorized

I want my words to break your heart and mend it at the same time,
Pierce the parts of your soul you never knew existed,
Heal old wounds,
Erase present ones.
I want my words to show you where I am
Where I have been
and where I am going.
I want my words to identify that I’m more than what meets the eye,
expose my vulnerabilities,
reveal my strengths.
I want my words to paint a picture,
A Monet or Picasso in written form.
I want my words to change the world,
make it kinder,
softer,
dissolve the hostility,
break through the bitterness.
I want my words to always be true,
from the heart
and many as the sands of the beach.
I want my words to matter long after my pen lifts off the page,
my book is shut
and we are no longer together.

Leave a Reply

