Sekou Sundiata ~ b. August 22, 1948 – d. July 18, 2007

Posted: July 31, 2007 by trggradio in Uncategorized

The first time I heard “Shout Out” on The Blue Oneness of Dreams by brother Sekou Sundiata I understood what a griot was. It hit me instantaneously. I knew it. I felt my calling somewhere in between Sekou’s recurring salute to past, present and future: “Here’s to the…” Listening to Sekou’s rhythmic cadences I realized poetry as a bearer of our history, struggle and victories when I first heard that poem. Yes, another of our great language architects has transcended. He will be missed. Please be sure to check the following links to learn of the brother’s many accomplishments and something of his meaning to our community. May he rest in peace. Ashe.

http://www.brotherhood-sistersol.org/sekou.htm

http://www.blackstarnews.com/?c=135&a=3520

Leave a Reply

